Christina Perez

With You Doula
(206) 396-2696
withyoudoula@gmail.com

Serving families in around Vancouver, WA and Portland, OR.
Fee: $25 to $40/hr sliding scale.

I became drawn to the work of the postpartum doula after giving birth to my firstborn. I was blessed to be cared for by two wonderful labor doulas, who inspired me to learn more about what doulas do.

I see the early weeks after baby’s arrival as a treasured time, whether it’s your first or fourth baby. It’s a time for the parent to rest, be nourished, be nurtured and encouraged so that they will be confident in caring for their precious little one. During this special time, I feel it is also valuable to be in the company of a fellow person who can simply listen to the parent when they want to share their story; voice concerns or reveal their hopes and dreams for parenthood. When a parent feels like at least one other person gets them and can affirm that they are completely capable of raising their baby, it is empowering.

It’s that empowerment I hope to help foster in my clients, especially during a time when we somehow got this idea in our heads that to be a successful parent, we have to be able to do it all and without help. The people in my life who I view as great parents were never alone. They were courageous to reach out to their “village” of people when they needed help or someone to just listen. So, in addition to fostering empowerment, I wish to leave my clients with the assurance that reaching out to others for assistance shows strength and intelligence, not weakness or failure.

Some things I can do to serve families are light tidying around the house such as loading the dishwasher, preparing a light meal, doing a load of laundry or coordinating a meal train. I will happily assist with general baby care if needed like baby wearing, bathing baby or nursing. If you have older children, I can help to care for them so that you can focus on your new baby.

I was born and raised in Seattle, Washington. I served as a Peace Corps volunteer in Costa Rica for 27 months. I currently live in Vancouver, Washington with my husband, three children and American bulldog. I enjoy practicing yoga, travel and trying out different restaurants in the Portland/Vancouver area.

DoulaMatch Profile
Facebook